Work in the Details

What do I take for granted everyday? Access to heat, air conditioning, electricity, water, shelter, food, medicine, clean clothes,  typography.

Well, not anymore.

http://aungthurhahein.github.io/Academic-papers-and-typography/

There is so much work in the details. I was working on a design today, and my coworker, Jacob, happens to have a natural eye for design (we both found that out today), so I started to run ideas and changes by him for a fresh perspective. After a while, after much feedback and observance of me changing font types, sizes, colors, and weights over and over again, he noted that he would have never thought so much time goes into so many decisions that make up one flyer or piece of visual rhetoric. But it does.

There are so many fonts and so many combination choices. Match the font to the media, match the font to the purpose, make the font fun but readable… Make it perfect. It can easily be overwhelming, especially if you haven’t quite got all of the font family, styles, and names on the tip of your tongue yet. It’s a workload.

http://designinstruct.com/roundups/10-infographics-that-will-teach-you-about-typography/While I was working, I also capitalized on the other two coworkers who were with me. Between the three friends, I rotated new perspectives at different points of progress. I was hesitant to completely trust myself. I needed to know the exact path their eyes were drawn to when they looked at my piece, what stood out, what didn’t stand out, what was lost on them, what changes they liked better or worse. I feel like to do this kind of thing right, you can’t do it alone.

There is a beauty in learning things beyond the surface. Since taking a video editing class, I have not been able to watch any type of video without thinking about all that goes into making something like that. I can talk for hours about the angles and shots used in a movie. I have. I always think about budgets (that’s the business major in me) and how it was to shoot each scene. If you want to talk about the actual storyline too, we’d better sit down.

I remember helping a friend with a project a few semesters ago. She wrote a script, gathered some of our friends, and I spent two hours filming it and at least nine editing it. There is this one 30-second scene that I spent an hour on. Roughly 3,600 seconds was spent making 30 seconds of video, but I am very proud of that 30 seconds.

Film-making is an art. Writing is an art. Good things tend to take time.

So, look around you. Realize that heaters and air-conditioners, clean water and paninis, and videos and documents do not just appear as they are. Don’t let the hard work of someone else be invisible to your eyes. Don’t you appreciate when someone recognizes your effort?

 

 

One thought on “Work in the Details

Add yours

  1. I’m glad you’re more aware of typeface now. And using others to get feedback is wise, much like the need for a writing group/workshop feedback. Real audiences tell us how a text is perceived. (how fun that you were able to use the smart WC staff too)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

